Tuesday, November 20, 2012


What kind of foods are safe for people on the gluten free diet? This can be a tricky question because there are so many different brand names out there. For instance, mayonnaise can be gluten free; Helmann's advertises their real mayonnaise to be gluten free I personally use this brand. Helmann's is a great tasting gluten free option that has been popular for a long time.But most of the off brands do not. Your best bet is to go with all natural products, and simple ingredients that specify gluten free or have no natural flavors in it. 
  • Beans, seeds, nuts in their natural, unprocessed form
  • Fresh eggs
  • Fresh meats, fish and poultry (not breaded, batter-coated or marinated)
  • Fruits and vegetables
  • Most dairy products
  • Amaranth
  • Arrowroot
  • Buckwheat
  • Corn and cornmeal (be careful with these always read the label)
  • Flax
  • Gluten-free flours (rice, soy, corn, potato, bean)
  • Hominy (corn)
  • Millet
  • Quinoa
  • Rice
  • Sorghum
  • Soy
  • Tapioca
  • Teff
  • These are all safe according to the Mayo Clinic.
  • Remember to enjoy life and always try new food ideas. You may be limiting gluten but you are never limiting your potential! You are as free as long as you allow yourself to be.
  • Have a Happy Healthy Gluten Free Day!

No comments:

Post a Comment