Question: Is there a difference between wheat free and gluten free? I mean, gluten is a protein found in wheat, right?
Answer: Actually, there are several grains in the family with wheat that also contain gluten. So, to answer your question, no, wheat free doesn’t mean gluten free. Something that is gluten free will not contain any wheat, barley, rye, or sometimes even oats. It won't be processed on the same equipment with one of these, and should be tested before it is certified gluten free. Many times we find gluten free on a label because the product is naturally gluten free but not tested. Other times it says gluten free and then mentions that it was produced on the same equipment with wheat. So, never trust the gluten free words alone, look at ingredients, look for other hints, and when in doubt, call the manufacturer!