Saturday, July 28, 2018

Maltodextrin ~ A Debated Topic

The word maltodextrin is one of debate in the gluten free world. Many say to avoid this ingredient like the plague...some say it is safe. Well to expound a little on this subject, maltodextrin can be made from many things. Wheat, corn, and tapioca being the most common medians it is derived from, make it usually unsafe for gluten free, corn free people like myself and my son. But if there is a product containing this ingredient that you are very curious to try, call the manufacturer and ask them to check and see what it is derived from. Many times I have called and found that it was derived from tapioca, a safe gluten free starch.
Have a Happy, Healthy, Gluten Free day!
~Gluten Free Em~

No comments:

Post a Comment